Fill out this short form for a
free claim evaluation.

    Are you working now?

    What was your most recent job?

    Level of education?

    Describe your impairment

    How does it keep you from working?

    Date of birth
    City, state


    Beth Alpert & Associates

    53 W. Jackson
    Chicago, IL 60604-3607
    312-427-2611 phone
    312-427-2644 fax

    Coagulation Defects

    How to Get Disability Benefits for Coagulation Defects by Meeting a Listing

    To determine whether you are disabled at Step 3 of the Sequential Evaluation Process, the Social Security Administration will consider whether your coagulation defect is severe enough to meet or equal the coagulation defects listing. The Social Security Administration has developed rules called Listing of Impairments for most common impairments. The listing for a particular impairment describes a degree of severity that Social Security Administration presumes would prevent a person from performing substantial work. If your coagulation defect is severe enough to meet or equal the listing, you will be considered disabled.

    The listing for coagulation defects is listing 7.08. To satisfy the listing, you must have a medical diagnosis of hemophilia or a similar disorder, and demonstrate spontaneous hemorrhage requiring transfusion at least three times during the 5 months prior to your case being reviewed by the SSA.

    Meeting Social Security Administration Listing 7.08 for Coagulation Defects

    Spontaneous hemorrhage 3 times during 5 months means that there is no traumatic basis for the bleeding—it just starts for no obvious reason. “Transfusion” means treatment with whole blood or packed red cells. Treatment with antihemophilic globulin is not a transfusion but a prophylactic therapy to prevent bleeding that does not imply severity.

    Continue to Residual Functional Capacity Assessment for Coagulation Defects.

    Go back to About Coagulation Defects and Disability.